#educoachOC Chat 20: Conversational Contexts

#educoachOC returns this month to discuss the range of conversational contexts where coaching and coaching approaches can be helpful. In schools, these contexts are often identified as the starting point for the development of coaching.

essential role of conversation

The Global Framework for Coaching and Mentoring in Education (van Nieuwerburgh & Campbell, 2015) provides a useful model of four ‘portals’ or entry points for coaching in education contexts.

You can listen to Christian van Nieuwerburgh explain the framework here and read more about its development here.

Global Framework_GGeditted_nologo_withinside_nobackground_nolefttext

Expanding on this model, we might think about conversational contexts around each of the portals. For example, approaching coaching through the Professional Practice portal could mean a focus on classroom teaching, with a desire to create a safe space for dialogue about the reality of what is happening in teachers’ classes leading to more discerning and personalised professional learning. Entering through the Educational Leadership portal could be about focusing on the nature of performance and development conversations that leaders have with their teams with a desire to both improve the leadership capacity of the leaders themselves and make these conversations more developmental in nature. Approaching coaching through the Student Success and Wellbeing portal could be about employing coaching approaches with students, or between students, in order to enable them to better articulate their learning and to set goals and identify strategies to help move them forward. The Community Engagement portal invites us to consider broadening the application of coaching approaches further still to involve parents, carers and other community partners involved in learning and development conversations.

What other conversational contexts would you place around each portal? Who would be involved in these conversations? What would be the intent of the conversation? How could a coaching approach help?

Another way to think about this is to consider the following question in your context:

If coaching is the answer, what was the question?

Jon Andrews and I recently presented at the 5th National Coaching in Education Conference in Melbourne where we invited participants to engage with some coaching questions when thinking about their conversational contexts for coaching. Some of these questions were:

  • If your question has been answered, what would that look like?
  • In the past, what has helped support changes that involved new ways of doing things in your context?
  • What’s within your sphere of influence or control to enable you to employ coaching or a coaching approach at the moment?
  • What would be the first signs of progress?
  • So, what will you do first?
  • What will be your first small steps when you get back to school?
  • What else? Then what?
  • When will you do that? How? With whom?
  • What resource or support might you need to make sure that happens?

In this month’s chat, we’d like to encourage exploration and sharing of our perspectives and experiences (or aspirations) of the application of coaching to a range of conversational contexts in schools.

Here are the chat questions:

Q1 Considering the Global Framework for Coaching in Education, where do you see coaching or coaching approaches being helpful?

Q2 So, if coaching is the answer, in your context, what is/are the question(s)?

Q3 Imagine 6 months from now coaching is working just as you’d hoped, what would you be noticing?

Q4 Which portals would you like to see ‘open’ next and why?

Q5 What has resonated most with you from this chat? What are you still wondering about?

Please join us on Monday 7 August at 8.30pm Australian Eastern Standard Time. That’s 6.30am New York, 11.30am London, 2.30pm Dubai, 5.30pm Jakarta, 6.30pm Singapore, and 10.30pm Auckland.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s