#educoachOC Chat 11: Differentiating Coaching

educoachOC

This Monday, on 5 September, our monthly #educoachOC chat will be exploring the topic of differentiating coaching.

If coaching is viewed as a catalyst and support for professional growth, then the process should be able to be applied to any individual’s contexts and priorities. Often we see coaching as a model differentiated by its open processes and intent to focus on the individual being coached. But does any coaching process, framework or approach fit most individuals and their growth needs?

In education, coaches are involved in coaching people at a variety of places in their careers and personal lives. People come into a coaching conversation with different priorities, different starting points and different needs. Early career teachers. Mid-career teachers. Veteran teachers. Highly reflective practitioners. Less reflective practitioners. Those struggling with change processes, work contexts or personal events. Aspiring leaders. New leaders. Middle leaders. Executive leaders.

As coaching is about helping the coachee move from where they are to where they want to be (as articulated by Costa and Garmston in their Cognitive Coaching Learning Guide), in what ways might we (or should we?) differentiate coaching processes, supports or structures in order to most meaningfully serve each individual? How can systems, schools and coaches navigate nuance in order to best serve their coachees, and each coachee’s diverse needs? Might there be flexibility in the conversation itself, or in the relationships, trust, data, starting points or feedback sources?

We’re looking forward to this chat as a way to crowd-source and rigorously explore our global coaching community’s ideas and resources around differentiating coaching. Do we need it? How might we do it?

The chat will be held on Monday at 8.30pm AEST. That’s 6.30am in New York, 11.30am in London, 6.30pm in Perth and Singapore, 7.30pm in Brisbane, 8.30pm in Sydney and Melbourne, and 10.30pm in Auckland. The questions for the chat are as follows:

  1. To what extent does coaching provide a one-size-fits-most approach to professional growth? Does coaching need differentiation?
  2. To what extent do the coaching needs of teachers (career stage, level of reflective practice) differ?
  3. What particular coaching needs might leaders (aspiring, middle, executive, principal) have?
  4. How might coaches, coaching approaches and schools address the needs of diverse individuals?
  5. Share a question, musing or resource around differentiating coaching.

We hope to see you there.

Deb, Corinne, Jon and Chris

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “#educoachOC Chat 11: Differentiating Coaching

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s