#educoachOC Chat 8: Coaching Contexts

Chat 8 Promo slide

Our next #educoachOC monthly chat is about contexts for coaching in schools. In particular, we’d like to explore the antecedent conditions for coaching: the precursors to the introduction of coaching in each of our educational contexts.

To set the scene for this chat you might want to read some of our team’s individual blog posts from last year. In If coaching is the answer, what is the question? Chris explores the starting points for coaching in his school context and in Developing a Coaching Model: Choices & Considerations he discusses some of the factors to be considered in moving from initial catalyst to developing a context-specific approach. In Implementing a coaching model: One school’s approach Deb explains her school’s approach to developing a coaching model.

Taking this notion of contexts for coaching further, and considering where our initial starting points might ultimately lead, the Global Framework for Coaching in Education developed by Dr Christian van Nieuwerburgh and John Campbell provides an interesting way of considering the entry “portals” or conversational contexts for coaching in education. You can read more about the framework here.

We know that the working contexts and roles of the #educoachOC chat participants are many and varied so we are looking forward to hearing your stories to help us all understand how coaching gains traction and evolves in different educational contexts.

The chat will be held on Monday 2nd May at 8.30pm AEST. That’s 6.30am in New York, 11.30am in London, 6.30pm in Perth and Singapore, 7.30pm in Brisbane, and 8.30pm in Sydney and Melbourne.

Here are the questions:

  1. How was it that the notion of coaching was first broached in your context?
  2. What other strategies were considered in order to work at the need, but why was coaching decided upon in the end?
  3. What models of coaching were explored before the selection was made for your context?
  4. How were the coaches selected for your context?
  5. What evidence indicates that coaching is having an impact in your context?

 

News Flash:

We are excited to let you know that the #educoachOC team of Corinne Campbell, Deb Netolicky, Jon Andrews and Chris Munro will be presenting on this very topic at the upcoming researchED Melbourne conference on 21st May. Get your tickets here.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#educoachOC Chat 8: Coaching Contexts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s