#educoachOC Chat 3 – Trust in Coaching

Our next #educoachOC chat, which happens on the first Monday of each month, will be held on Monday November 2, at 9:00pm AEDT (UTC +11). That’s 9pm in Melbourne, Sydney and Canberra. 8pm in Brisbane. 6pm in Perth. 11pm in Auckland. 5am in New York. 10am in London. Please join us, wherever you are in the world!

This time we’ll be talking TRUST.

‘Trust’ is a term used often in discussions of schools. Tschannen-Moran (2014), in her book Trust Matters: Leadership for Effective Schools, defines trust as “one’s willingness to be vulnerable to another based on the confidence that the other is benevolent, honest, open, reliable and competent” (pp. 19-20). Bryk and Schneider (2002), in their seminal work Trust in Schools: A Core Resource for Improvement, argue that trust is key to an environment which allows vulnerability, experimentation, and deep engagement in school change.

In one of my previous posts about implementing my school’s coaching model, I explored some of the brain research which shows the importance of trust; if we feel threatened, our brain stays in fight-or-flight mode, but if we feel trusting and trusted, we are open to deep thinking, growth and change.

In his blog post this week, Why Trust Underpins Coaching, #educoachOC moderator Jon Andrews warns that “if coaching is viewed as the remediation strategy and an organisational necessity, trust in the system and the motivations is automatically paralysed before the relationship can get off the mark.”

#educoachOC is keen in its chats to clarify the terms we use in talking about coaching and to develop a common understanding across our coaching-in-education community, while learning from each other. So, what does trust mean? Do we have a common understanding of what it is, how it plays out in coaching contexts, and what coaches and education contexts can do to foster it?

To help us tease out the issue of trust in coaching, we’ll be asking the following questions. We look forward to the conversation.

Q1: What are the qualities of trustworthiness that a coach should possess and demonstrate?

Q2: Why is trust foundational to coaching success?

Q3: How is trust broken or betrayed in a coaching relationship?

Q4: What kinds of skills, practices or strategies can a coach or organisation use to build or repair trust?

Q5: Share a resource you have found helpful in thinking about trust in coaching contexts, or share an in-practice example of where you have seen success in building or repairing trust.

Deb, Jon, Corinne and Chris

Advertisements

One thought on “#educoachOC Chat 3 – Trust in Coaching

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s